National Sports Awards 2016 Winners Full List Names Photos

National Sports Awards 2016

National Sports Awards 2016 Winners List has been Announced. Check out the complete list and winners photo gallery. National Sports Awards are presented each year to credit brilliance in games/sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the breathtaking performance in the field of sports by gamers over a time of four years. Arjuna Award is also given for four years for their reliable performance on the game ground. Check National Sports Awards 2016 Winners List here.

Dronacharya Award is granted for mentors or coaches for creating Medal Winners at prestigious international Sports Events. Dhyan Chand Award is a grant for a lifetime commitment to sports development. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is presented for both in a private and public sector. It also awards people who have been an important part of the promotional zone of sports in their advancement and improvement. Finally Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy is presented to University who conducts tournaments.

National Sports Awards 2016 Winners List

National Sports Awards 2016
National Sports Awards 2016

The Selection Committees comprise of Previous Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, and other Award Winners. The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards Selection Board was led by Justice S.K. Agarwal, Retired Delhi High Court Judge. The Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards Selection Board was led by Ms. M.C. Mary Kom. The Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar Selection Board was led by Shri Rajiv Yadav, Secretary.

Sports Ministry declared Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards for P.V.Sindhu-shuttler and Sakshi Malik-wrestler besides Dipa Karmakar-gymnast and Jitu Rai-shooter. It is considered as the India’s highest honor, it includes a prize money of Rs.7.5 lakh besides Medal and Citation. Check the complete Winners List of National Sports Awards 2016.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016 Winner List

Name of awardee Discipline
P.V. Sindhu Badminton
Sakshi Malik Wrestling
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
Jitu Rai Shooting

Dronacharya Award 2016 Winners List

Name of awardee Discipline
Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
Raj Kumar Sharma Cricket
Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
S. Pradeep Kumar Swimming (lifetime)
Mahabir Singh Wrestling (lifetime)

Arjuna Award 2016 Winners List

Name of awardee Discipline
Rajat Chauhan Archery
Lalita Babar Athletics
Sourav Kothari Billiards and Snooker
Shiva Thapa Boxing
Ajinkya Rahane Cricket
Rani Hockey
Subrata Paul Football
V R Raghunath Hockey
Gurpreet Singh Shooting
Apurvi Chandela Shooting
Soumyajit Ghosh Table Tennis
Vinesh Poghat Wrestling
Amit Kumar Wrestling
Sandeep Singh Mann Para-Athletics
Virender Singh Wrestling (deaf)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here